Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Honey-soy roasted salmon – from Parents Need to Eat Too!

Posted by Jeanne on February 7, 2012

I’ve been reading Debbie’s blog for years and have been eagerly awaiting the publication of her book since she it was announced (last year?  I can’t even remember.).   I’m even more excited that the book is coming out this month, because my life circumstances have conveniently aligned with the book launch.  What better timing than to have a book about cooking for new parents released a month before our first baby is due?

It’s fate, I’m telling you.

So I was EVEN MORE excited when I was asked to participate in the blogger cooking party leading up to the book’s launch.  For those of you who are also eagerly anticipating the launch of Parents Need to Eat Too, you can pre-order a copy and get a free digital starter kit to go along with it.  Or you can try and win one from me!

To enter, leave a comment on THIS VERY POST with your earliest food memory.  First bite of a favorite food?  Cooking with a parent or grandparent?   All comments entered before midnight CST on Tuesday, February 21st, 2012 will be included in the drawing for a copy of Parents Need to Eat Too.

On to the food!  The first recipe I tried was honey-soy roasted salmon.

Serves 4

Cooking time: 35 minutes (5 minutes active)

1/3 cup honey

1/4 cup reduced-sodium soy sauce

1 teaspoon Sriracha sauce or other asian chili sauce, or to taste

Four 6-ounce salmon fillets, skinned (we used skin-on frozen fillets from Trader Joe’s – I don’t mind salmon skin and tend to prefer to cook with it on, actually)

Cooked rice and a green vegetable, for serving

Preheat oven to 450°F.

1. Whisk together the honey, soy sauce, and Sriracha in a shallow bowl. Add the salmon, turning to coat, and marinate for 20 minutes at room temperature, and up to 1 day refrigerated.

2. Grease a baking dish large enough to hold the fish in 1 layer. Remove salmon from the marinade and arrange in the dish (skin-side down, if you’ve left it on). Reserve marinade.

3. Roast fish just until it’s opaque all the way through, 12 to 14 minutes.

4. While the fish is roasting, pour the reserved marinade into a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Cook until thickened, 4 or 5 minutes. (watch carefully or you’ll wind up with something akin to tar.)

5. Serve the fish with the rice and a green vegetable, and pass the sauce separately.

I doubled the marinade amount so that we would have some extra sauce.  I served it with steamed rice and some dragon beans we had in the freezer from this summer.

The fish was great and the marinade is something that can be thrown together before work in the morning without making a mess or having to do things like dice and saute onions at 7 am.  We promptly forgot to marinate the fish in the morning, as the day we planned to make this dish ended up being the day after I checked the alarm on Sunday night and then shut it off again.  So we were a bit rushed in the morning… but it the fish was nice and flavorful even with only a 20-minute marinade while the oven preheated.

13 Responses to “Honey-soy roasted salmon – from Parents Need to Eat Too!”

  1. Sheri said

    I remember my mom constantly cooking. And everything she made was wonderful and comforting. She’s slightly OCD and had 4 kids running around, so she rarely let us help. I lucked out being the youngest and having 4 years between my next oldest sibling and myself. By the time I was interested and able, I was the only one left in the house and she passed on a lot of her knowledge to me. I may share my insights with my siblings someday…. but only if they are nice :-)

  2. Claire said

    Ooo, I definitely remember my papa bringing home exotic fruits. We lived in rural Minnesota but often he’d have work in the heart of the city so he frequented food co-ops which not only had organic but interesting foods. I’ll never forget when he brought home these little hairy brown balls for me and my two siblings to try.

    We were skeptical because they looked like hairballs, really. And when he sliced them in quarters we were even more shocked and turned off by their green innards and black seeds.

    But…oh my sweet, quivering tongue! The green meat was so tangy it puckered my cheeks and I swore it was a fruit made from strawberries and bananas.

    I’ll never forget my first bite of kiwi.

  3. Alright, I’m convinced. Going to try this one. Of course, if something has six or less ingredients I’m usually easily convinced I should try it.

  4. Thanks so much for coming to my book’s blog party, Jeanne! My own earliest food memory: My grandpa’s matzo brei on Passover. Buttery, salty, sweet, crispy, soft… perfect.

    • Jeanne said

      I have still never had matzo brei (grew up Catholic) – every time you post about it I want to make it! I’ll have to see if we can do it this year.

  5. stellacarolyn said

    My first food memory is cooking with my grandmother. Many afternoons a week. Sometimes complicated things, sometimes simple. Like hot cocoa with fluff on top. She used to scoop it out with a spoon, put the spoon in the cocoa and then, like magic, the fluff would pop up and spread across the top of the chocolate. Heavenly.

    So excited for you and your upcoming birth!

  6. hilary said

    I remember eating lobster on Martha’s Vineyard with my parents. I had a taste for the good stuff at a young age!

  7. Debbie said

    Jeanne, I always love reading your blog! I’m definitey going to try this recipe, it sounds incredible and I absolutely love salmon!!

    My very first food memory…well, that was a long time ago…the first thing I remember eating was my mom’s homemade chocloate pudding…and includes by slightly older brother, Rick, just 15 months older than me. Being so close in age, I always tried to compete with him in every way, especially when it came to food :-) I was born a foodie. Our mom once told me that I always watched her portion our food out and I had a temper tantrum if I didn’t get the same portion as Rick, and I do remember I watched with an eagle eye as she portioned the warm chocolate pudding into bowls and made sure I got the same amount as my brother. Yum…on this cold winter day I would give anything to have a warm bowl of chocolate pudding!!

    I’m going to get a copy of this book for my daugher-in-law, with two little ones and working from home, she has a struggle finding recipes that she actually has time to prepare!! Thanks for letting us know about it.

  8. Earliest food memory? Ummmm.. Butter on a spoon. Sorry Mom.

  9. [...] Honey-soy roasted salmon – from Parents Need to Eat Too! [...]

  10. [...] Honey-soy roasted salmon – from Parents Need to Eat Too! [...]

  11. First food memory: Gnawing on a real NY bagel. The kind that a small only slightly toothed person can’t really make a dent in. My dad worked in the city and would bring us home real bagels. They were my first and best teething device.

  12. emmalola said

    one of my first food memories? putting salt on my food to try to cut the heat from all the chile. I grew up in New Mexico, we were poor, and we ate a lot of beans with chile.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 721 other followers

