Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Quiche

Posted by Jeanne on September 7, 2009

I made quiche yesterday – the recipe is very loosely based on the recipe in Bouchon (Thomas Keller (with Jeffrey Cerciello, along with Susie Heller and Michael Ruhlman);  Artisan, 2004).  When I say “very loosely” I mean “would make Thomas Keller roll over in his grave were he dead, and probably shouldn’t even mention his book in the same blog as this recipe” – but what can you do.

Quiche!

Quiche!

I did make it in a springform pan, which he suggests.  I think my springform pans are not as water-tight as his, as every time I do this I forget the pan leaks and do not first line it with something that actually is water-tight.  D’oh.

My springform pan is NOT water tight.

My springform pan is NOT water tight.

Anyway.  Quiche.  This is how I make it.

1/2 batch of pastry dough

6 eggs

1 cup 1% milk

1 cup half-and-half (it’s tasty, not healthy)

2 to 3 cups filling (for this one I used about 3/4 lb. bacon, 1 small onion, and about 3/4 lb. of mushrooms, all pre-cooked)

Preheat the oven to 375F.

Roll out your pastry dough so it fits into the springform pan.  Line the crust with parchment and blind-bake it for about 15 minutes.  Make sure you weight it so you don’t get weird lumps where the dough tries to rise.

Lower oven temperature to 325F.

Combine eggs and dairy in blender along with some salt and pepper.  Blenderize until fluffy and foamy.

Pour half the batter into the prepared crust (take out the parchment first).  Add 3/4 of the filling.  Top with remaining batter and the rest of the filling.

Bake for an hour to an hour and 15 minutes, until set but still a little jiggly.  Cool completely.  Serve cold or warmed back up; the next day is best.

Pictures of the process:

Pastry dough preparation

Pastry dough preparation

Bacon & eggs for the filling are both from this vendor - available at the Benson and Village Pointe farmers' markets.
Bacon & eggs for the filling are both from this vendor – available at the Benson and Village Pointe farmers’ markets.

Beautiful egg, also from Kvam Family Farm.

We had it for dinner tonight with a simple cucumber salad.

Quiche with bacon, mushrooms, onions and swiss.

Quiche with bacon, mushrooms, onions and swiss.

One Response to “Quiche”

  1. Naomi said

    I believe you are eating much better than I, although I somewhat tried last night and did caprese pasta with garden heirlooms…

Leave a Reply

 
