Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Pita Bread

Posted by Jeanne on September 13, 2009

I decided to make pita, from this recipe.

The dough comes together pretty quickly in the KitchenAid mixer – have I mentioned my love of that thing yet?  Because I love it.  I hate kneading bread dough but have started baking more often lately, and it really does everything.  The recipe calls to knead the dough for 10 minutes in the mixer, and it did a much better job than I would have done.

While it was kneading, the dough climbed all the way up the dough hook.  Also, the whole time it was making a ridiculous slapping noise and nearly vibrated the mixer off the counter.

DSCN0963

We flattened them, rolled them out, and then baked them on the cast iron skillet in a 475F oven.

DSCN0980

Also, we set off all three smoke detectors in the house making them.  Go us.

DSCN0994

They are sort of lumpy but quite delicious.

DSCN0993

One Response to “Pita Bread”

  1. Naomi said

    Aww…I miss making smoke and fire in the kitchen with you!

Leave a Reply

 
