Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Chicken noodle soup with leeks and chickpeas

Posted by Jeanne on October 17, 2009

DSCN1357

I first made a version of this recipe when I was in college – I made it again today for the first time in years and years. It’s a recipe that my ex-boyfriend and I used to make all the time, and I think that’s why I didn’t make it – he and I didn’t part on the best of terms.  But he could really, really cook so I’m going to hold onto the recipe.

I have no idea where the original recipe was found, but this is how I do it.

2 TB butter

2 large leeks, white and light green parts only – cleaned well and sliced into strips

DSCN1337

2 or 3 cloves of garlic, minced

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized chunks

DSCN1342

2 cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed well

8 cups chicken stock or broth

8 oz small dried pasta

Salt & pepper

Melt the butter over medium heat in a large heavy pot (I used an enameled cast iron dutch oven).  Add leeks and season generously with salt and pepper.  Stir to coat in the butter, cover, and let sweat for five minutes.

Add garlic and sweat for an additional two minutes.  While garlic cooks, season chicken well with salt and pepper.  Add to the pot and cook about five minutes, until chicken pieces are about half done.

Add chickpeas and stock; stir gently to combine.  Cover and bring to a boil – cook (covered) about 10 minutes, until chicken is cooked through.

Add pasta and cook until tender.  Check seasoning – serve topped with some asiago or parmesean cheese.

DSCN1358

It’s not the prettiest soup, but it’s really tasty and it makes a ton.  And I don’t even get any this time!  I am leaving it for Curt to eat… thankfully he is obsessed with soup and will take good care of it while I’m traveling next week.

3 Responses to “Chicken noodle soup with leeks and chickpeas”

  1. Lindsy said

    I made this soup last night. It is simple to make, yummy and filling. I’m sure the filling part has to do with the amount of chickpeas involved. Next time I may cut the chickpeas in half and add carrots. Nice work!!

  2. […] noodle soup with leeks and chickpeas – based on this recipe, but subbing turkey for the chicken because (surprise!) we have a bunch of leftover […]

  3. […] Chicken noodle soup with leeks and chickpeas […]

Leave a Reply

 
