Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

How To Eat

Posted by Jeanne on October 21, 2009

Michael Pollan has another book coming out soon – Food Rules:  An Eater’s Manual.  I pre-ordered it here.

This is where I lose all of my “foodie” cred – I have to admit I don’t really like Pollan’s books.  I think when he speaks he is much more centered in reality than in his books – I tend to find the books kind of preachy.  At the same time, I think that he deals with topics that are really, really important.  The appearance that turned me around was his participation in Food, Inc. – he was really measured and spoke incredibly well about a topic that he’s clearly passionate about.

Anyway, blah blah blah.  Since reading In Defense of Food a couple years ago, I’ve been trying to keep the book’s rule of thumb in mind – Eat food.  Not too much.  Mostly plants. We often fail, especially at the last two.  I think it’s really important to try and fulfill the first though, and that’s part of the reason I started this blog.

I wanted to show that a normal person – a lawyer in Nebraska in a tiny house with a small kitchen and a full-time plus job and no actual culinary training – can make meals that are food.  By that I mean dishes are made of ingredients, not frozen pre-packaged meals in boxes that are full of high-fructose corn syrup and preservatives.

I think it’s unfair and false to make people think that it’s impossible to cook at home – that pasta sauce must come from a jar, that stock comes in little dehydrated squares, that lunch comes pre-packed in little microwave containers.  That’s why I do this, and why I continue to buy and read Pollan’s books – because he supports food, not the food industry.

Leave a Reply

 
