Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

The power of ratios

Posted by Jeanne on December 27, 2009

I bought Ratio:  The Simple Codes Behind the Craft of Everyday Cooking when it first came out.  I read the introduction and glanced through the rest, but I haven’t made anything from it.

Until today.  Today, I wanted to make bread.

Basic loaf, modified from Ratio

20 oz. flour

12 oz. water

2 tsp salt

1 tsp yeast

Combine and knead about 10 minutes, until a handful of dough can be stretched so you can almost see through it.

Let the dough rise until doubled in size, and knead a bit to push out the bubbles.  Let rest ten to fifteen minues, and preheat your oven to 450F.

As always, super-70’s bowl optional.  Note the little dent where I was testing the dough to see if it was ready… Must remember not to poke the food before photographing.

Shape the rested loaf into the desired shape – round boule, baguette, ciabatta – I made a boule, isn’t it cute?

It is at this point when I first think I should have made those cuts longer, but I figured they would rise out.

Let rise another hour while the oven warms to temperature.

Bake for 10 minutes at 450F, and then another 45 to 50 minutes at 375F.

Cool until you can no longer stand the smell of freshly baked bread and must cut into and sample the bread.

Also, my bread looks like a pomegranate.  Boo.

Tasted good though, especially the first warm slices.

Leave a Reply

 
