Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

No. 1 Pomapolitan

Posted by Jeanne on January 1, 2010

Happy new year!  First post of 2010, what pressure.

Before I start, I would like to welcome the artichoke people – are artichokes a New Years food?  Because I have gotten an unbelievable number of hits this past week from people searching for this artichoke post.  So, hello!  I hope your artichokes turn(ed) out well!

Anyway, you may recall that a couple weeks ago I decided to make some pomegranate and orange flavored vodkas.  Last night, I decided to try out a cocktail.  I make a cosmopolitan like so:

1.5 oz. citrus vodka

.5 oz. Cointreau or triple sec

1 oz. cranberry juice cocktail

juice of one lime

lemon or lime wedge, slice, or twist for garnish

Combine in a cocktail shaker – shake to combine and chill, and serve in a martini glass.  Garnish with lemon or lime.

I didn’t have any cranberry juice, so I needed to figure out a way to lend some of that sweetness into the two (very, very tart) vodkas.  So I made some simple syrup:

.5 cup water

1 cup white sugar

Bring the water to a boil and add sugar.  Stir until completely dissolved and remove from heat.

And now – the recipe for the pomapolitan:

.5 oz simple syrup

1.5 oz pomegranate vodka

.5 oz orange vodka

juice of one lime (or juice of half a lemon when you run out of limes… not quite the right flavor but worked in a pinch)

lemon or lime for garnish

As before, combine in a cocktail shaker – shake to combine and chill, and serve in a martini glass.

Garnish with lemon or lime.

What better way to say goodbye to 2009 than with a nice strong pink cocktail?

Happy new year, everyone!

One Response to “No. 1 Pomapolitan”

  1. SJ said

    Yay! Pomapolitan for me please!

Leave a Reply

 
