Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Veggie banh mi

Posted by Jeanne on January 16, 2010

I love banh mi – any version and I’m happy to try it.  Apparently banh mi refers to the bread, which is a baguette made with both wheat and rice flours, as well as the sandwich. All I had was a regular baguette, and I wanted to make a vegetarian version that didn’t involve pressed, marinated, or pre-roasted tofu because I don’t usually have those things on hand.

This is what I came up with – I was inspired by falafel and changed the spices around to have a more Vietnamese flavor.

Vietnamese Bean Patties

1.5 cups cooked beans (I used half a pound (dry) of cannelini from Rancho Gordo – the other half of the cooked beans will go into a pasta later this wee) or 1 14.5 oz. can of beans, drained and rinsed

0.5 medium onion, chopped

1 tsp ground coriander

2 cloves garlic

1 egg

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp black pepper

0.5 tsp red pepper flakes

Juice from 1 lime

A handful of cilantro

1 to 2 tsp fish sauce, or 1 to 2 tsp soy sauce (not the same, but vegetarian)

0.5 to 0.75 cup unseasoned bread crumbs (use panko if you’ve got it)

The Directions.

Preheat your oven to 350F.  Mash beans in a medium sized mixing bowl. Set aside.

Process onion, coriander, garlic, egg, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, lime juice, cilantro, and fish/soy sauce together in a food processor or blender until smooth.

Pour on top of the beans. Mix with a fork and add breadcrumbs a bit at a time until the mixture is solid enough to form into patties.  Form patties about the size of a golf ball and then flatten a bit – we ended up with about 15 patties.

Place the formed patties on a lightly greased baking sheet and bake for 30 to 40 minutes.  If you like, you can flip halfway through so they get browned on both sides.  I didn’t, because I am super lazy.

Serve warm, on a toasted baguette topped with mayo, cilantro, and carrot slaw (grate or julienne 4 large carrots and 6 small radishes, or half a daikon.  Add 2 TB salt, 2 TB white vinegar, a pinch of red pepper flakes, and some water if you need it in order to stir the slaw.  Let rest 15 to 30 minutes before serving, stirring occasionally).

I forgot to get the camera out until I had already started assembling – you can see the cilantro, patties, and then the carrot slaw on top.  I am going to comfort myself with the fact that white bean patties probably don’t make the most exciting photo anyway.

I will also comfort myself with the memory that this was super easy and tasty.

Leave a Reply

 
