Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Banana, chocolate and ginger cake

Posted by Jeanne on January 22, 2010

It’s absolutely freezing in Omaha this January – the weather is miserable for man and beast alike. Combined with the ton of snow that won’t melt (since the temperatures are well below zero, forget plain old freezing…), being outside is utterly miserable.

I shouldn’t complain. Our house is warm and dry (if a bit drafty – old house + old windows will do that) and the oven works. And you know that if the oven works, you can always bake something to keep the house warm and make it smell delicious.

Bloggy baking/cooking-esque photo

I adapted the recipe for Banana Bread with Chocolate and Crystallized Ginger from Molly Wizenberg’s A Homemade Life.  Maybe you know Molly better as Orangette, which is simply brilliant and full of fabulous recipes.

I feel sort of guilty mentioning that I adapted her recipe, since I committed several cardinal sins of baking while making this.  Namely, I substituted a non-fat blueberry yogurt for the whole milk yogurt in the recipe, and I measured everything incredibly poorly.

It was delicious anyway.

2 cups flour

0.75 cup sugar

0.75 tsp baking soda

0.5 tsp salt (who are we kidding – some salt.  Shake it into your hand first so you don’t dump the whole shaker in.)

0.75 cup chocolate chips (I used half Ghirardelli and half plain old Nestle chips in the yellow bag)

0.33 cup finely chopped crystallized ginger (we had this left over from Christmas baking.  This stuff is a pain to chop, FYI.  It sticks to the knife and the cutting board and your hands and to itself.)

6 TB butter, mostly melted

2 large eggs

3 large over-ripe bananas, mashed (about 1.5 cups)

0.75 cup yogurt (I used a 6-oz. container of Chobani non-fat blueberry yogurt.  I know, I know, I know.  WRONG.  So wrong!  I think strawberry would have been better, but honestly you can’t really taste it.)

1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat over to 350F.  Grease an 11×7 baking dish (or a similar equivalent – I used the blue oblong casserole dish thing I use for everything to make this) with butter or cooking spray and set aside.

Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, chocolate chips, and ginger in a large bowl.  Stir to combine.

Lots of ginger

The butter should be about half melted and half very soft – I microwaved it for 15 seconds on high twice to get it to this state.  Mix the butter, eggs, yogurt, and vanilla with a fork to combine.  Add the mashed bananas and stir – mixture will be very lumpy.

Add the butter/banana mixture to the dry ingredients, and stir until all the flour is incorporated.  The mixture will remain quite lumpy.  Scrape into the prepared pan and bake about 40 to 50 minutes, until the top is nicely browned and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Try not to eat it all at once.  If you’re very nice, share some with your coworkers.

Leave a Reply

 
