Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

February

Posted by Jeanne on February 25, 2010

It is a good thing February is only 28 (occasionally 29) days long. If it lasted any longer, I would have to toss myself off the balcony on the 4th floor at work.

It would be merciful, really – it has been so cold for so long I no longer believe that it will ever be spring again.  As my sister says, nuclear winter is here.  Buy a parka.

Things I would like to eat and the circumstances in which I would like to eat them – no particular order:

1.  Grilled salmon brushed with bourbon and honey, and some green beans steamed inside a foil packet on the grill.  Eaten outside on the deck with the dogs begging for salmon and a glass of sauvignon blanc in my hand.

2.  A tomato that tastes like a tomato.  Salt, pepper, tomato, juice running down my arms.  End scene.

3.  Bibim guksu – the recipe I use is similar to this one.  It’s so good when the weather is really hot – that spicy heat doesn’t last, and then you feel like you’ve been air-conditioned.

All of it – grill, eating outside, really NEEDING my sunglasses, not wearing the dreaded socks anymore – cannot come soon enough for me.  What are you looking forward to if the snow ever melts?

What will you make, cook, eat?

3 Responses to “February”

  1. Lainey said

    i feel you. i, too, am losing hope in spring.

  2. rosamanda said

    I was just going to write a to-do-list for the 1st day of Spring weather (if that ever happens) and at the top of that list is wearing all of my shoes without socks…I hate socks!

  3. c said

    I am also tired of cold weather, snow and cold feet (from wearing ballet flats without socks even when it snows). Also I miss skirts.

    I would like…
    My mother’s thai beef salad.

    A hot lobster sandwich from Abbott’s, sitting on a picnic bench, reading the sign that tells you to only feed the fish below the dock oyster crackers.

    A mountain of garlicky roast romano beans to eat with my fingers.

Leave a Reply

 
