Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Mocha Cupcakes

Posted by Jeanne on March 6, 2010

Last time I used the Ratio book, I made a boule.  It was fine – nothing super-exciting, but it was tasty and really, what can you say that is bad about homemade bread?

Last night I used the same book to make cupcakes.  As much as I believe in the power of Ruhlman, I was worried.  I shouldn’t have been.  I was also excited because this book makes baking like cooking – as long as you follow the ratio, it’s going to work.

Mocha Cupcakes

4 large eggs plus 1 large egg yolk, at room temperature (save egg white for caramel frosting, post to come)

8 oz. sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp baking powder

8 oz. flour

1 tsp instant espresso powder

1 TB cocoa powder

8 oz. butter, melted and cooled slightly

Preheat oven to 350F.  Prepare cupcake tins – this will make 15 to 18 large or 2 to 3 dozen mini cupcakes.

Combine baking powder, flour, espresso powder, and cocoa powder.  Set aside.  Mix eggs, sugar, salt and vanilla on medium-high speed until the mixture has tripled in volume, about 5 minutes.  Add flour mixture and mix on low until just combined.  Add the butter and again, mix on low until just combined.

Measure batter into prepared cupcake tins – each cupcake cup should be about 2/3 full to leave room for them to expand.

Bake about 20 to 23 minutes for full-sized cupcakes, or about 12 to 15 minutes for mini.  Cupcakes are done when a toothpick inserted into the center of one comes out clean.  Cool completely, and frost if desired.

They are both adorable and delicious! The coffee and chocolate flavors are there but not overpowering, and the cake is moist and light but not too sweet.  And they can be flavored in many different ways – I’m already trying to come up with some more.  Any ideas?

I’ll frost them with a caramel frosting and sprinkle with colored sugars – pics of the finished product in that post, I promise.

3 Responses to “Mocha Cupcakes”

  1. Michael said

    how yummy!
    check out my baking blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

  2. Lizzie said

    any extras? lol

    Now I dont know what I want to eat more these or Girl Scout cookies.

Leave a Reply

 
