Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Lasagne Part II: Assembly

Posted by Jeanne on March 30, 2010

I made this sauce on Saturday afternoon – and then made the lasagne on Sunday.  This is a really, really good lasagne but I think next time I will use less of the sauce.  It seems that it would benefit from more noodles/less meat sauce – and also then I could eat more of the sauce on something else.

Lasagne Bolognese, again from Martha Stewart Living, February 2001

Ingredients:

Serves 10 to 12.

  • Bolognese Sauce
  • 2 1/2 pounds 2% cottage cheese (I know, I know… blasphemy, again.  But I had a giant thing of cottage cheese in the fridge and I really did not want to go to the store again.  See also, made broccoli pasta instead of spinach pasta when it was discovered I was out of spinach.)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • Pinch of ground cayenne pepper
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 pound uncooked lasagna noodles (I used fresh pasta for this, so there was no pasta-cooking step involved.  If you’re using dried pasta, cook the noodles where indicated in the recipe.)
  • 1 pound fresh mozzarella cheese (I used small balls of mozzarella that you buy in oil and herbs – it’s not as good as fresh mozzarella, but it’s tasty.  Also, at this point do we really need more cheese?)

Directions:

Bring sauce to room temperature. In a blender, mix together cottage cheese, eggs, Parmesan, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, black pepper, nutmeg, and cayenne pepper. Chill filling until ready to assemble lasagna.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter an 11-by-14-by-3-inch baking pan. If you’re not using fresh pasta (because you’re not a sucker for punishment like me), bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add olive oil and remaining tablespoon of salt. Cook noodles until very al dente, 2 to 3 minutes less than the manufacturer’s instructions. Remove noodles with tongs; drain in a colander.

Spread about 3 cups of sauce on the bottom of the prepared baking dish. Place a single layer of lasagna noodles over the sauce, overlapping them slightly. Spread about 2 cups sauce over the noodles and about half the cheese filling mixture over the sauce.  (I only used about 1/3 of the cheese, because it was starting to freak me out how much STUFF there was between each layer.)

Top with a layer of lasagna noodles, again slightly overlapping them. Repeat with more sauce and remaining cheese filling mixture (again, I only used about 1/3 of it). Top with a final layer of lasagna noodles. Spread a layer of sauce over the noodles, and finish with a layer of mozzarella rounds.

Note the grazing Chihuahua in the left corner of the picture.  She spent the entire time I was assembling the lasagne praying that I would drop SOMETHING – preferably a whole lot of meat sauce.  Or a large ball of mozzarella.

Bake until the sauce is bubbling and the cheese is melted, at least 1 hour. Cover with aluminum foil if the cheese starts to brown too early. Let the lasagna stand 10 to 15 minutes before serving.

Alas, there are no finished pictures.  Let me assure you that although I would use less meat sauce and more noodles next time, Martha knows what she is talking about and this dish was really delicious.

2 Responses to “Lasagne Part II: Assembly”

  1. Naomi said

    NETTIE!

  2. […] Lasagna […]

Leave a Reply

 
