Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

New riffs – Mac & Cheese II

Posted by Jeanne on April 1, 2010

This recipe is not for the faint of heart, but the results are delicious – beloved by kids and adults alike.

I actually took quite a few pictures of the process this time.

What you need:

1 box of Macaroni & Cheese

2 TB butter

0.25 C milk

One decent sized pot

Salt

Water

My mise en place:

Color not enhanced.  Orange like that can only be manufactured, not grown.

The instructions:

I also suggest salting the water.  I went out on a limb and only cooked the noodles for 6 minutes.  They were still slightly overcooked.

Maybe that’s why you aren’t supposed to rinse them – at 7.5 minutes they would likely be so waterlogged that you would rinse them down the drain.

Also – the box recommends margarine.  Don’t use margarine.  Seriously.  For anything.

The beginnings of step 3 – we’re almost there!  I know it’s been an arduous journey towards lunch/dinner/drunken midnight snack, but stir like hell and you’ll get there.

I suggest topping with Penzey’s Black and Red Spice.  Mmm, mac & cheese.

*

*

*

Happy April 1st, everyone.

2 Responses to “New riffs – Mac & Cheese II”

  1. Naomi said

    Love the mise!

  2. peg neumann said

    I would hate for your friends reading the web site to know just how much of this very mac n cheese I had to cook for you n your sib s whenyou were little. Never any leftovers either !!

Leave a Reply

 
