Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Busy busy busy

Posted by Jeanne on May 9, 2010

Cooked a TON this weekend.  I catered a party for the lovely and talented Ryan last night.  His actual birthday is on Cinco de Mayo, so his equally lovely and talented wife Amanda asked me to make him some Mexican food.

The final menu:

Tortilla chips

Guacamole

Roasted corn & black bean salsa

Pulled pork & queso fresco tamales

Quesadillas filled with black bean puree & queso fresco

Saffron/tomato rice

By all accounts the food was delicious and a good time was had by all. Alas, there are no pictures.

Today, we had my mom and brother (and dog) and Curt’s parents and brother over for Mother’s Day brunch.  We had:

Quiche Lorraine (sorry about the super-weird lighting, I forgot to take a picture until it was nearly gone)

Asparagus, mushroom & swiss quiche

Roasted potatoes

Donuts my brother brought

I made the crust yesterday, but rolled it out and filled the quiches this morning.  The crust was made with half butter and half duck fat and it was a huge pain in the ass to roll out.  Not sure why – I didn’t have that problem last time I made a crust with duck fat.  Tasted delicious though, and it was super-flaky and tender.

I also learned a very important lesson:  do not stick your hand into boiling water.  Thankfully I had the good sense to quickly remove my hand from said water.

It stings and is incredibly sensitive to heat but I don’t think it’ll blister.  Win!  I may not be smart but at least I am pretty.

On the menu this week:

Aloo gobi + rice

Turkey meatloaf + sauteed broccoli + mashed potatoes

Hokkien mee + braised bok choy

Soft polenta + Italian sausage & mushroom ragout

Veggie paella with artichokes and borlotti beans

But tonight – tonight we’re going to have Chinese takeout and watch Dr. Who.  Sorry for the listy post but I am worn out!  Hopefully I’ll get something good posted later this week, that includes actual decent photos.  Non-burned fingers crossed.

One Response to “Busy busy busy”

  1. rosamanda said

    I am very mad at myself for forgetting to take pics. of the lovely cinco de mayo spread at Ry’s party. It was some of your best work, love. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

 
