Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Thai-inspired Pesto

Posted by Jeanne on June 21, 2010

The cilantro is taking over!  We went from having four adorable little sprigs of cilantro to four giant plants in approximately three days.  So I made a Thai-inspired pesto.

Also, I wanted an excuse to use up a few more of the excruciatingly hot Thai chilis we got from the neighbors.

Thai-inspired cilantro pesto

2 cups (packed) cilantro, large stems removed

0.5 cup peanuts (I used unsalted peanuts – if you use salted, go easy on the other salt)

3 large scallions, chopped in 1- to 2-inch pieces

4 cloves garlic, peeled

2 Thai chilis

0.5 tsp kosher salt

0.25 cup nut or vegetable oil (I used canola oil, but might use peanut oil next time)

Place cilantro, peanuts, scallions, garlic, chilis and salt in the food processor.  Pulse until well combined and finely chopped.

Turn the food processor on and drizzle the oil in a little at a time – if the mixture starts to look too liquidy or separate, do not add any more oil.

Scrape down the sides of the bowl and process until mixture is uniform in texture.  Use within a day or two, or freeze until you want some of it.

Or feed it to yourself on a spoon, which is what I believe happened to this lovely spoonful that Curt kindly offered to hold for a picture.

This is a double batch – we ended up freezing it into ice cube trays (and sharing some with the other neighbor).  This summer, I think I’ll use it on grilled chicken or melt a cube of it to use as a dressing for cucumber salad.

This coming winter, I want to use it in soup or stir-fry so that I remember that summer will eventually come again.  And the cilantro will grow like a weed and drive me crazy, just like it always does.

It’s like the circle of life, right?  The circle of cilantro… Perhaps nothing that dramatic.  But it is tasty.

2 Responses to “Thai-inspired Pesto”

  1. Jessi said

    I was wondering if I could that! Looks amazing-I will be trying it stat.

  2. […] fresh cilantro or mint as called for in the original recipe.  I had frozen mint, and some of the Thai pesto I made last summer, so I improvised using […]

Leave a Reply

 
