Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Weekend shenanigans

Posted by Jeanne on June 27, 2010

I have had a remarkably productive weekend, if I do say so myself.

Yesterday we worked on our patio for six hours in stifling heat and humidity. It was awful beyond all description – by 3:00 I think we all had the beginnings of heat exhaustion despite plowing through two-thirds a case of bottled water.  I was seeing spots and Alex had actually stopped sweating and our breaks were nearly as long as our work times.

We made great progress though.

Today we’ve done 4 hours of work on the patio so far, and there will be more after it cools off a bit and the sun goes down.

This afternoon, while we were taking a break from patio-ing, I cooked a ton of stuff.

Mac & cheese with cauliflower

Aloo gobi + rice

Kitchen sink Thai red curry (random garden veggies – 15 peas, one purple pepper, 3 tiny zucchini, 2 hot Italian peppers, and a partridge in a pear tree.  Or two chicken breasts.  Whatever.) + jasmine rice

Beet risotto

The rest of the week, we’ll also have:

Saag tofu + rice

Steak & green chili enchiladas

Grilled cheese + tomato soup

I have to say I am not looking forward to laying more brick.

But I can’t wait for the patio to be finished so we can enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

 
