Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Cocktail time

Posted by Jeanne on July 7, 2010

We finished the patio on Saturday!  I say “we” but I really mean “Curt” because it is amazing how terrible I am at laying bricks.  Thankfully my life rarely requires brick-laying.

I did mow the lawn and go to the hardware store and buy 5 cubic feet of sand.

That night we went to Pitch again – it was yummy and delicious.  We were the table with the (awesomely) smelly anchovy pizza in the back corner.  We were also the table with the amazing cocktails – I am usually a wine or beer person, and so is Curt.  But a couple of drinks on their cocktail list caught our eye.  Curt had a delicious ginger lemonade, I got a cucumber basil sparkler, and Megan had peach sangria.

The cucumber basil sparkler was memorable enough to recreate at home.

Cucumber basil cocktail

Basil leaves, crushed if small or chiffonade if large (a couple tsp. total)

1 TB finely chopped kirby cucumber, plus one slice for garnish

1 tsp simple syrup

1.5 oz. gin (we used Beefeater, once we get rid of some more booze I will use Hendricks – the original used Hendricks)

Soda water

Ice

In a Collins glass, combine basil, cucumber, and simple syrup.  Add ice and gin and stir gently to combine.

Top with soda water and garnish with a cucumber slice.

You have got to try this.  Even if you swear you don’t like gin or cucumbers – it’s so delicious and refreshing.  A brilliant summer cocktail.

One Response to “Cocktail time”

  1. Josh said

    Mmmm. I would use Beefeater or Tanqueray. They have a potency that works well with the cucumber and the soda water. I drink Hendricks by the gallon, but typically up, with nothing more than an olive. Too smooth for much mixing.

Leave a Reply

 
