Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Caprese Macarons

Posted by Jeanne on July 12, 2010

There seem to be weekends when I have nothing but time to write.  Mostly because I don’t feel like cooking, or because things haven’t gone well in the kitchen, or because the laptop has decided it hates me (again) and the photos are trapped on it (or on the camera, or on the flash drive).

Then there are weekends like this past weekend.  Things came together like magic in the kitchen – and there are some beautiful pictures to prove it.

Like this blood-red meringue.

I am insanely proud of the blood-red meringue.  I decided to attempt a caprese macaron last week one day – Thursday maybe?  I had taken the almond flour out earlier in the week to come to room temperature and left it out for a couple of days.  It eventually came to rest in the fruit bowl, which is also home to a handful of cherry tomatoes right now.

The hamsters in my brain saw the two sitting together and climbed on their little hamster wheels, and I knew I had no choice but to try to make a savory macaron.  It’s not a new idea – for example, there is David Lebovitz’s ketchup macaron.  And apparently the book Macaron, by Pierre Hermes, is full of them.  With recipes in French.

So I decided to experiment.

I added a teaspoon of tomato paste and a couple of drops of red food coloring to this recipe instead of the orange extract in this recipe.  The cookies are beautiful but I want to figure out a way to get more tomato-ness into them.  The taste just isn’t quite there.

I made a filling of mascarpone cheese and basil to go in the center – I think next time I might mix the cheese with basil oil to give it a little more punch.

Mascarpone is so, so delicious it should be criminal.

I piped the filling onto the cookies and finished assembling them.

Turn gently and see…

And we have a first attempt at caprese macarons.  The flavors could be stronger, but I’m going to call it a success regardless.  Because frankly, they are amazingly delicious and I learned from the experience – and really, what else can you expect when you try to combine a French dessert and an Italian salad?

5 Responses to “Caprese Macarons”

  1. Jenny said

    My belly calls them delicious.

  2. Lainey said

    awesome idea! i would call it a huge success!

  3. debbie said

    Sooo pretty! I have yet to attempt macarons. I’m so uncool.

  4. paulo said

    I’m trying the same ideia and I found your blog 🙂

    I think that tomato powder should intensify the taste of it? I can imagine that having some powder over the shell before baking would intensify the flavour, but then I would add less red food coloring so the powder could be seen.

    I’m drying some tomato paste in the oven trying to make into powder form, let’s see how that goes! Have you tried these ones again?

Leave a Reply

 
