Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Herbalicious – veggie spring rolls

Posted by Jeanne on September 21, 2010

I love, love, love fresh spring rolls.  I’ve only made them a couple times before, and I haven’t made them in YEARS.  I remembered it being a huge pain in the neck.

But there was some beautiful mint, and some gorgeous Thai basil.

And Julie gave me some rice paper wrappers a couple months ago, so I figured fate and herbs were speaking to me.

I used the mandoline to thinly slice an English cucumber, and I soaked about 3 ounces of thin rice stick noodles in hot waiter until they were soft and pliable, about 7 minutes.

After I drained the noodles, I tossed them with the chiffonade mint and basil, some sesame oil, fish sauce, and chili/garlic sauce.

I soaked the rice paper wrappers one at a time for about 10 seconds in warm water to soften them up, and then laid them on a towel to assemble.

I laid down the cucumbers first and then topped with the noodles.  Then it was off to rolling – the cucumbers made it kind of squared off and I feel like maybe I should have used more noodles to fill out the rolls better.  But I didn’t want to tear the rice paper – it was pretty delicate already.

Folding, folding, folding.

When the rolls were made, I made a quick spicy peanut sauce to serve with them.  Because really, part of the beauty of spring rolls is that they are a fabulous vehicle for peanut sauce.

They were so, so good – and way easier to make than I thought they would be.  I fell prey to the myth that spring rolls are hard to make and they totally weren’t.  Hooray!  More spring rolls are in our future.

One Response to “Herbalicious – veggie spring rolls”

  1. debbie said

    Mmm, I’ve been dying to make spring/summer rolls. But I haven’t had time to hit up an Asian market–no rice paper in the supermarket! Bah.

Leave a Reply

 
