Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Behold, the power of cheese

Posted by Jeanne on October 1, 2010

This is a Sponsored Post with giveaway written by me on behalf of jarlsberg cheese.  All opinions are 100% mine.

This post is really, really long and contains many photos.

I love the internet.  Because, you see, the internet brought me the opportunity to experiment with cheese recipes and try something new.  Casey started Kitchen Play and contacted me to write some new recipes featuring jarlsberg – how could I say no?

The theme of the Kitchen Play event is tailgating.  This is the part where I have to confess again – I’m not a football fan.  Living in Nebraska, this is akin to sacrilege – but I really don’t understand the rules of football and I feel like the games take foreeeeever.  I am ALWAYS a fan of eating and parties though.

Anyway.  Jarlsberg.

Big honking wedge of cheese!  Whoot!  Jarlsberg has some holes, like you would think with a Swiss cheese, but it’s a bit softer and milder.  And we have some left and I think it is going to make some killer panini.

First recipe:  Jarlsberg-stuffed mini sliders

Makes 12 – 15 mini burgers

3 lbs. ground beef

1 egg

Salt & pepper

12 oz. jarlsberg, cubed

Place cubed cheese on a plate or sheet pan and place in the freezer until you need it.  If you’re assembling and cooking your burgers in the same spot and you plan to grill them, prep the coals so they will be medium-hot or preheat your gas grill.

Mix ground beef, egg, and salt and pepper in a large bowl until well-combined.

Spray a sheet pan with cooking spray.  Dish out six small burgers, about 1.5 TB of meat each, and flatten with your hands or the bottom side of a glass until they’re about 4 inches across.

Place about 1 oz. of cheese in the center of three of the burgers (take the cheese out of the freezer before this step…).

Place one of the unfilled burgers on top, and press tightly around the edges to seal.  Try not to break the burger or you’ll have a crazy cheese explosion on your hands when you go to cook them.  Set aside, refrigerate, and repeat until all your burgers are made.

Note:  If you’re making ahead and transporting to cook at your tailgate, stop here and chill the burgers well until you get there.  Be careful of cross-contamination – you don’t want ground beef all over your beer cans or potato salad or whatever else you’re having.

If you’re not transporting your burgers or cooking them inside, start the grill now!  Or um, warm your skillet or griddle pan.  We cooked ours inside because it was about 110F that day.  Don’t forget to keep the burgers nice and cold until you’re ready to start cooking.

Cook your burgers about 3 – 4 minutes per side, flipping only once.  Flip carefully so as not to explode the cheese inside (which I failed at, mightily).

See?  Exploded a bit.  Annoyed!

Serve on a teeny-tiny bun and enjoy!

See?  Cheese in the middle!  We had with zucchini sticks but really, these are good with any side and I will make them over and over again.

***

For the second recipe, I wanted to do something that might be a bit better later in the season – it is COLD here in November and soup is an excellent meal option.  Especially a soup made with corn.  We are in Nebraska, after all.

Second recipe:  Corn and cheese chowder

Makes about 12 cups of soup

2 TB olive oil

2 TB butter

1 large yellow onion, diced

2 – 3 cloves garlic, minced

2 red bell peppers, diced (must use red.  We’re in Nebraska.  I suppose if you’re a Spartan you can use green.)

1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces

Salt & pepper

3 lb. potatoes (I used Yukon Gold), peeled and cubed

2 C corn kernels (if you make this when corn is in season, I would grill it first and then cut from the cobs.  Probably about 6 to 8 ears.  I used frozen for this dish, because there is no sweet corn worth buying late in football season.)

1 TB smoked paprika

6 C chicken broth or stock

0.5 C flour

1.5 C milk

1 C shredded jarlsberg (or more to taste)

Look!  I finally took a mise en place photo!

Warm the olive oil and butter over medium heat in a large soup pot or dutch oven.

Add onion, red pepper, and garlic and salt and pepper well.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until softened – about 10 minutes.  Add chicken and cook about five minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add potatoes, corn, paprika, and stock.  I like to use six cups of stock because I like the soup to be fairly thin – if you want a thicker soup, reduce the amount of stock.  Cover and bring to a boil – cook about 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

Mmmm, chowder.  If you’re prepping ahead, stop here and chill.  Warm it again before proceeding to the next step.

Mix milk and flour well (I like to put it in a sealed container and shake the crap out of it.  You can use a baggie as well.  Or just, you know, a bowl and a whisk.) and add to the chowder.  Keep the heat no higher than medium so it doesn’t boil and break the milk.  Simmer 15 to 20 minutes or until thickened a bit.

Add shredded cheese, lower heat, and stir often until cheese melts.

Serve the chowder with some crusty bread or crackers.  If you, like Curt, believe there is never, ever enough cheese, please feel free to top with more.

***

Jarlsberg asked me to give away a sweet rolling tailgating tote – perfect for your next tailgate!

To enter to win, leave a comment on this post that describes your favorite tailgate dish. If you need more inspiration, check out the Kitchen Play tailgating event or Jarlsberg’s tailgating site.  Feel free to leave more than one comment, but only the first one will be counted as an entry.

The competition closes at midnight CST on Friday, October 15th. I’ll use a random number generator to select the winner. Good luck!

15 Responses to “Behold, the power of cheese”

  1. […] from Jeanne Eats World keeps warm with her Jarlsberg-Stuffed Mini […]

  2. Breana said

    Behold! I shall now refer to you always as, “My friend Jeanne, the food celebrity.”

  3. Jen said

    Oh man – cheeeeeeeeese. I love cheese. Jarlsberg is a good ‘un too. So for tailgating I love a good garlicky brat smothered in cheese on a bun with mayo. So. Good. But I’d probably just snarf the cheese by itself. With a good bread maybe. Nah. Just the cheese.

  4. peg neumann said

    i’m in cheese counmtry now, WI, and am going to look for more Cheese Like Curt there’s never too much

  5. […] Behold, the power of cheese […]

  6. Megan said

    The stuffed mini-sliders are so good. Makes my mouth water just thinking about the cheesy stuffed goodness on a toasted bun. I like the insides overflowing with cheese (so use about twice as much as Jeanne says to). When can we have those again?

  7. brooke said

    I don’t want dr B to NOT get the prize…but hey, I like prizes too 🙂

  8. emily said

    What if you’ve never done a tailgating thing in your life? I think Dr. B should get the prize too, but it should be a fair fight, at least

    • Jeanne said

      I’ve never tailgated in my life and I wrote a whole post about it! Hopefully that’s not a bar to enjoying delicious food and/or wanting a free cooler.

  9. josh said

    The burger looks amazing, but I must admit, the latex glove in the picture is a bit off putting :-).

  10. josh said

    “The Salad” A healthy addition to a Jarlsburg tailgate.

    By the name you can probably tell that this is one of Penny and my favorite salads. It contains few ingredients, but all are absolutely required, and any swapping of ingredients changes the character of the salad. We’ve been making it for years, and if memory serves, the idea came from something I saw from Tyler Florence years ago.

    For the salad:
    Endive chopped into 1″ pieces
    Avocado sliced into 1/2″ pieces
    Dried cranberries
    Shredded Jarlsburg

    For the dressing:
    Fresh lemon juice
    Olive oil
    Salt to taste

    Mix salad, then toss with dressing. The salad is a lovely combination of sweet/tart from the cranberries, a salty nuttiness from the Jarlsburg, and a sourness from the lemon.

    Enjoy!

  11. Lindsy said

    I want to win cheese.

  12. reevesjack said

    I can’t look at your blog without being incredibly hungry. I need some of those lovely little cheese burgers.

  13. […] – your last chance to beat out Breana for the rolling tailgate cooler!  Leave a comment on this post to […]

Leave a Reply

 
