Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Georgie porgie, pudding and pie… filling?

Posted by Jeanne on October 26, 2010

Can I talk about the weather, briefly?  (I suppose this is my blog and I can talk about whatever I want to, really.  So there and you are not the boss of me, etc.)

It was raining, and it’s getting cold for real, and I would like to hibernate today.  I would really, really like to curl up in several large down comforters or sleeping bags or something with the tiny dog and many pieces of trashy fiction and/or books about food and nap off and on all day long.

Alas, I have a job and a catering company and a blog and on I will press.  But man, does hibernation sound good sometimes.

(Thus concludes the bizarre interlude which was not really about the weather at all.)

So I told you about my problem buying excessive amounts of fruit.  And you saw the ridiculous number of apples.

Utterly ridiculous.  We ended up canning pie filling!  It was so easy and it’s really delicious.

Canned apple pie filling, inspired by this recipe.

Ingredients:

3 C white sugar

1 C cornstarch

1 TB ground cinnamon

1 tsp ground nutmeg

2 tsp salt

10 C water

6 TB lemon juice, plus a bit additional

6 lbs. apples

Start your canning kettle and prepare six quart-sized jars along with their lids and rings for canning.  I wash the jars and bands in the dishwasher, and wash the lids with hot soapy water and then rinse well.

In a large soup pot, whisk together sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon and nutmeg. Add salt and water and mix well. Bring to a boil and cook until thick and bubbly. Remove from heat, add lemon juice, and stir to combine.

Peel, core, and slice apples. While you’re working, keep the already cored or peeled apples in a water bath into which you have squeezed the juice of one lemon (to keep them from browning).

Pack the sliced apples into hot canning jars, leaving approximately half an inch of headspace.

Fill jars with the hot syrup.  Gently remove air bubbles with a plastic knife.  Wipe the edges of the jars clean, put lids on and process in a water bath canner for 20 minutes.

Don’t start the timer until the jars are all in the water and the water has returned to a boil.  Et voila!  You have pie filling.

We should have taken more pictures but the whole thing went really quickly and it was a very all-hands-on-deck sort of evening.  We made two batches and one of the jars didn’t seal, so we gave it a try the next night in a cobbler.

Which I also didn’t photograph but which Curt and the neighbors said was very good.  Good thing because we have 11 more jars waiting to be used.

      One Response to “Georgie porgie, pudding and pie… filling?”

      1. […] at the orchards in Nebraska City.  I haven’t tried any yet, but we used the same recipe as last year so I’m hoping it’s still a […]

      Leave a Reply

             
