Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

My first pot-roast

Posted by Jeanne on December 5, 2010

I know, I know.  I’m 31 years old (yegads!) and I cook all the freaking time and I’ve never made a pot-roast. I’ve made multiple versions of boeuf bourguignon and I’ve never made a pot-roast.

Be ashamed of me no more, for I hath made pot-roast!  And it was amazingly good.

Special thanks to Erika’s mother-in-law Marnee for sending me the recipe, and to Curt for growing some amazing horseradish.

New England Pot-Roast

0.5 C flour, divided
1 TB plus 2 tsp salt
1.5 tsp black pepper
4 pound beef chuck pot-roast (arm, blade, inside roll, English or Boston cut or shoulder clod)

This is more like 5 lbs.  Also, what the heck is a shoulder clod?  Sounds painful.

2 TB oil or other fat  (I used 1 TB olive oil and 1 TB bacon fat)
1 5-oz. jar of horseradish, or about 1 C freshly grated horseradish (optional but SO GOOD)
1 cup water

4 medium potatoes, scrubbed and quartered
8 medium carrots, cut into chunks
8 small onions (I used 1 enormous onion cut into chunks)
0.5 tsp salt

Stir together 0.25 C flour, salt and pepper; rub mixture on meat.  Melt fat in a very large skillet or Dutch oven with a lid; brown meat over medium heat, about 15 minutes.

Reduce heat, spread horseradish on both sides of meat.

Tons of horseradish!  Since I was using fresh I grated it up and then kind of just blobbed it on top.

Add water, cover tightly and cook 3 hours, or until meat is tender.  Add vegetables and remaining salt and cook another hour, tightly covered.  Place meat and vegetables on warm platter; keep warm while making gravy.

Gravy:

Pour entire contents of cooking vessel, less the meat and veg which should be resting comfortably on a platter, into a bowl, leaving brown particles in pan.  Let fat rise to top of drippings and skim off, reserving 0.25 cup of the fat.  Place reserved fat in cooking vessel with browned bits .  Blend in the remaining 0.25 C flour.  Cook over low heat, stirring until mixture is smooth and bubbly.  Remove from heat.

Measure meat juice; add water to measure 2 cups liquid and stir into flour mixture.  Return to medium heat and warm to boiling, stirring constantly.  Boil and stir 1 minute.  Season with salt and pepper.  Makes about 2 cups.

Serve gravy with meat and vegetables.

Totally crappy photo of leftovers!  But man, it was good and it makes a TON.

Also – if you’re using fresh horseradish like we did:  a small warning.  Wear gloves and goggles if you have them.  By the time I finished grating all that horseradish, I was crying like a baby.  But at least my sinuses were clear?

One Response to “My first pot-roast”

  1. daphnedel said

    this looks awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

 
