Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Daring Kitchen December: Go ahead, poach my eggs.

Posted by Jeanne on December 14, 2010

This is my 200th post!  Wild.  My little blog, it is almost all grows up!

And this is another Daring Kitchen challenge that made me groan.  I hate poaching eggs.  So I decided that for this challenge, I would be a dirty cheater and use poach pods AND make blender hollandaise instead of the real deal.

I found out about poach pods from Kate’s blog this past spring and ordered them immediately.  And then let the sit in the cabinet for eight months until the evil wizard blogger behind Jenn Cuisine decided that this was the December challenge.

So yes, I do suck and I am a dirty cheater but… we had delicious breakfast anyway.  Hopefully I will recover my ability to make dishes according to written instructions soon.  Maybe once Curt quits baking cookies like it’s going out of style and I can get IN the kitchen.

Salmon sauteeing in the background; eggs poaching in their little pods in the foreground.

Blender Hollandaise

3 egg yolks

Juice of 1 lemon (about 2 TB)

A pinch each of cayenne, salt, and pepper

0.5 C butter (one stick)

Melt butter over medium heat until foaming and bubbling.

Place egg yolks, lemon juice, and spices in a blender.  Begin running blender; pour butter in while blender is still running.  Let run until thick and foamy, about another 30 seconds.

Pour out and enjoy!

Whole grain English muffin, poached egg, sauteed salmon, and blender hollandaise.  Good Saturday morning!

Thanks, Daring Kitchen, for another fun challenge!  Even if I am a dirty cheater…

One Response to “Daring Kitchen December: Go ahead, poach my eggs.”

  1. Jenn said

    haha!! Pretty sure Jill and I have got nothing against poaching pods – glad you enjoyed the challenge and congrats on your 200th post!

Leave a Reply

 
