Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Fridge Friday Sixteen and GF for LF preview

Posted by Jeanne on December 31, 2010

I have a confession to make.  I haven’t really wanted to cook lately.

I don’t really know why – we had a great Thanksgiving, I haven’t had any major disasters or injuries in the kitchen, and this is a great season for soups and stews, which are usually some of my favorite things to cook.

But I just haven’t felt like it. I’ve done it to put food on the table, but we’ve also been eating a lot of quick meals rather than things that take a lot of time and thought.  My other life as a lawyer has been chaotic, and I think between that and the bleeping holidays I have just not wanted to be creative in the kitchen.

Thankfully, the holidays are almost over.  The only one left is primarily devoted to drinks and parties, both of which I fully support.

I’m also hoping a new project for January will get me inspired in the kitchen – we’re going gluten-free.  My sister’s friend LF was diagnosed with celiac disease about a year ago.  LF’s 25th birthday is at the end of January and as a show of support, some of her friends decided to go gluten-free and I am tagging along for the ride.  I thought it would be informative and, hopefully, inspiring in the kitchen.

Also, I was told there would be t-shirts.

So expect many gluten-free recipes in January!  First though, we can’t let this year go away without some fun.  So please, won’t you take a look into our fridge?

Sorry for the blurry pic… so much stuff in the fridge!

Our new years’ eve menu:

Pan-fried sweetbreads

Surf & turf, steak & crab legs

Garlic mashed potatoes
Spinach salad, warm bacon vinaigrette

Spinach & a whole tenderloin.

Others have agreed to help out with other dishes – another app, a side, and dessert.  And of course there will be lots of wine, and a toast at midnight if Curt and Megan don’t fall asleep on the couch like last year.

And if they do I shall make forts out of them again.  Happy almost 2011, everyone!  May we all eat well in the upcoming year.

2 Responses to “Fridge Friday Sixteen and GF for LF preview”

  1. Laura said

    Thanks Jeanne! I hope that it goes well for you (and T too)! It is SO nice of you to do this! Let me know if there is anything I can do to help.

  2. […] Want to know what is with all the GF for LF posts?  See the explanation here. […]

Leave a Reply

 
