Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Kitchen Play Inspiration: A naughty cocktail

Posted by Jeanne on January 2, 2011

Some of you may remember the Jarlsberg post I wrote for Kitchen Play.  Every month there are more posts with original recipes and more fun chances to win stuff!

December’s sponsor was MySpiceSage.com and this group of bloggers came up with some amazing dishes.  One of these days I am going to try the za’atar spiced chicken, but for the contest I could only manage to riff on one of Stetted‘s cocktails – the Naughty.

Stetted infused her simple syrup with bhut jolokia, also known as naga jolokia or the ghost chile.  These are apparently the hottest peppers in the world, which scares the crap out of me since I can barely touch a Scotch bonnet without sweating.

I didn’t have any ghost chiles lying around to infuse into my simple syrup, so I went with what I’ve got – Thai chiles.  We then used it to make shooters instead of the cocktail.

Naughty cocktail

Infused simple syrup

1 C white sugar

1 C water

3 Thai chiles (also called bird chiles), slit to release oils (or more as you prefer).  Be careful handling the peppers – the oils will stay on your skin for a long while and can make putting a pair of contacts in the next day a religious experience.

In a small saucepan, bring the water to a boil.  Add the sugar and peppers and stir until sugar is dissolved.

Remove from heat and allow to cool completely before mixing your drink.

Mixing

1 part chile-infused simple syrup

1 part lemon juice

2 parts unflavored vodka

Shake together over ice until well-chilled.  Serve at once.

Here’s to more great cooking in the coming year!

Yes, I am wearing a “little black apron” and the necklace is part of the apron.

2 Responses to “Kitchen Play Inspiration: A naughty cocktail”

  1. Casey said

    I love your take on this cocktail. I think what’s fun about the recipes Megan (Stetted) came up with for cocktails, is that you really can swap ingredients in and out to suit your tastes (or the contents of your pantry). I’m wondering what you thought of the end result? Was it really spicy, or just mildly so? Either way, thanks for playing along and good luck!

    Happy New Year,
    Casey

    • Jeanne said

      It was pretty mild – just a little burn at the end. REALLY tasty though. I left the peppers in so I’m hoping it’ll be a bit spicier in a few days!

Leave a Reply

 
