Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Race recap

Posted by Jeanne on May 2, 2011

Going into my first half-marathon, I had four goals.

  1. Finish the race;
  2. On my feet, not crawling or rolling;
  3. In less than 3 hours; and
  4. In 2:45 if I could swing it.

I met 3/4 of my goals – finished the race on my feet (even ran across the finish line!) and did it in 2:59:37.

Pre-race

I would like to thank Theresa, Jenny, and Carla for talking me off more ledges than I can count, and Dan and Kelly, our awesome coaches, and mentor Lisa for answering my annoying emails about why my foot hurts, why am I so unmotivated for my training runs, will I ruin everything by skipping one run, etc.

Holy hell, do we look tired.

Also, the amazing people at the Nebraska chapters of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and Team In Training for giving me the tools to do this thing.

And finally:  oatmeal.  (This is, in theory at least, still a food blog.)

This oatmeal is currently the topic of my magical thinking.  I had it before a really good 8-mile run, before an excellent 10-mile run, and the morning of the race.  Now I am convinced that I must eat this the morning of a run in order to have a good run.

At least it tastes good, if I’m going to imbue it with magical powers.

1 c water
1.5 C milk
1.25 C old-fashioned rolled oats
1 medium Granny Smith (or other tart baking-type) apple, cored and cut into pieces (about 1.5 C)
0.75 C dried sweetened cranberries (or other dried fruit)
0.5 C chopped cashews
2 tsp brown sugar

Bring water and milk to a boil in large, heavy saucepan over medium-high heat. Stir in oats. Reduce heat to medium and simmer about 3 minutes, stirring often, until oats start to soften.

Stir in dried fruit, chopped apple, and nuts.  Cook 2 to 3 more minutes, stirring often, until nearly all the liquid is absorbed and the apple has softened a bit.

Makes 4 servings – they reheat extremely well.

Although I must recommend that if you’re going to plan to eat it in a hotel the morning before a race… bring a spoon.  It’s hard to eat oatmeal with a coffee stir-stick.

One Response to “Race recap”

  1. Woo hoo! I’m so impressed with you, Jeanne! Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

 
