Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Spring herbage spring rolls

Posted by Jeanne on May 15, 2011

So it’s been awhile.  This time, I’ve got nothing.  I just haven’t been cooking very much, or anything very interesting.

I am also trying to figure out what to do with my post-race self.  I spent so much time wishing the race was over, that I was done training, that I didn’t have to run… and now it’s over and I don’t know what to do with myself.  The TNT coaches refer to it as post-race blues, I have been referring to it as Stockholm syndrome, and it sucks.

Anyway.  It’s spring!  At least in theory – earlier this week it was summer and now it feels like fall again?  Anyway, you should make some spring rolls.  I did.

Spring rolls are nice because you can make as many or as few as you want, or as you have ingredients.  From the bottom:  shrimp, carrots, cucumber, cilantro, and basil.  I also used rice noodles.

Definitely not the prettiest spring rolls ever, but they were delicious.  Now that we  have some mint growing again I can’t wait to add it to my spring rolls!

Also, I totally missed this month’s Daring Kitchen challenge – gumbo!  I just ran out of days and couldn’t get a post up.  You can use the below if you’d like to check out the blogs for the people who actually did the challenge.

Blog-checking lines: Our May hostess, Denise, of There’s a Newf in My Soup!, challenged The Daring Cooks to make Gumbo! She provided us with all the recipes we’d need, from creole spices, homemade stock, and Louisiana white rice, to Drew’s Chicken & Smoked Sausage Gumbo and Seafood Gumbo from My New Orleans: The Cookbook, by John Besh.

2 Responses to “Spring herbage spring rolls”

  1. Katie said

    Hi! I’m a new follower from Sioux Falls, SD and love your blog so far! Wondering what you used in the spring roll sauce. I’d love to try it out!

    • Jeanne said

      Hi Katie! Sorry so slow on the uptake with the reply! We call that “cheater’s peanut sauce” and it’s peanut butter, soy sauce, chili-garlic sauce, and lime juice. Good stuff, just stir together and revise until it tastes the way you want it!

Leave a Reply

 
