Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

The problem

Posted by Jeanne on May 31, 2011

The problem with failing to update for a period of time means that now I feel like I owe some kind of epic, awesome post.   Instead, I have opted to just continue along like nothing happened at all.

This will not be an epic, awesome post.

The problem with having a trained chef visit you is that you eat like freaking royalty for days and days, and then your pants don’t fit.  But man, it was fun.

Friday night we grilled salmon and shrimp that had been marinated in a honey-ginger-cumin-cinnamon mixture.  Served over spicy couscous and with braised baby bok choy on the side.

I swear there is salmon under all that greenery.

There it is.  SALMON!  So very, very tasty.

Saturday we ate at Grey Plume.  Go there now if you live in Omaha and haven’t been yet.  It was amazing.  The four of us had:

-Charcuterie plate

-Butternut squash soup garnished with foie gras, some really nice veggies, and house-cured duck proscuitto.

-Short rib appetizer – braised short rib with dark chocolate, candied pecans, lavender powder, some gelee that I didn’t get to try because Curt and Scott ate it all, candied grapefruit rinds, and grapefruit supremes.  The grapefruit melded well with the dish, leaving only a slight bite in the finish to the sauce – and I normally despise grapefruit.

-Dungeness crab agnolotti – on the menu it’s listed with spring peas, wild ramps, lemon marmalade, baby carrot, and fennel.  So amazing.

-Rabbit – the entree that was mine and the only one I photographed (I didn’t bring the camera, this was taken with my phone).  It’s not on the menu anymore, but I remember sunchokes, rhubarb, and ramps.

The rabbit is wrapped in blanched ramp greens (is that what they’re called?).  It was unbelievably good.

-Chicken – this was really amazing – it was also served in roulades and the skin was astonishingly flavorful.  I have no idea how it was cooked but I am going to try and find out, dammit.  With kumquat, baby turnips, apple, and maitake mushrooms.

-Halibut – served with creme fraiche spaetzle, butternut squash, green garlic, and black truffle.    Delicious and powerfully flavored, and the fish was perfectly cooked.

Sunday night I made braised pork belly (which will get a post of its own), and then we had the same thing on Monday morning for breakfast topped with a fried egg.  And then fajitas for lunch/dinner before we had to take Scott to the airport.

Everything was delicious and I’m feeling a bit more inclined to be back in the kitchen, which is a good thing.

Oh, except for the final problem, which is that our dishwasher is broken again so I’m also feeling inclined to not use any more dishes than absolutely necessary.

Thanks to Scott for coming to visit!

2 Responses to “The problem”

  1. Na said

    What was your tab???

  2. Alisa said

    I have the same problem when my mother-in-law comes to visit,she’d cook up a storm!But we all love her for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
