Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Tis the season: Benson Farmer’s Market

Posted by Jeanne on August 6, 2011

A lovely reader of my blog reminded me last night that it has been far, far too long since I posted.  So Kristi, this one’s for you.  🙂

The refrain to eat fresh vegetables and buy local seems to get louder every year.  We grow quite a few vegetables, as I’m sure my regular readers know.  We are also lucky enough that there is a farmer’s market just a couple blocks from our house, which I decided to visit a couple Saturdays ago.

I got six ears of sweet corn and three squash (two yellow squash and one zucchini) for $5 – a huge bargain, because they are ready NOW.  I love summer vegetables.

Squash!

I seasoned them with salt and pepper, olive oil, and a little balsamic vinegar and grilled them for a few minutes to get some nice smoky flavor and soften them up a bit.

Then I made ratatouille, based very loosely on the recipe posted here.  I only had two tiny eggplants, so it was definitely heavy on the squash and zucchini and light on eggplant.  Still delicious though.

For the corn, I Curt cleaned the silk out but left the husks intact.

I mixed butter, mayo (I know, but it works so well), parmesean cheese, paprika, and salt & pepper and spread it on the corn.  We then closed the husks around them and grilled – it made a delicious side dish.

It’s currently pre-10 AM on Saturday and if you live in Benson you still have plenty of time to get to the market!  The Benson Farmer’s Market runs from 8 am to 1 pm Saturdays from May to October, and is located at the intersection of Maple Streets and Military Avenue in downtown Benson.

NB:  I was asked to do this post, but was not compensated for writing it.  I paid for my own items at the market.

2 Responses to “Tis the season: Benson Farmer’s Market”

  1. SandySays1 said

    Another great squash dish. I gotta try it! I wrote about one in my most recent post. Having fresh Veggy season going is kinda of previewing eater’s heaven!
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. kaybeestew said

    I never would have thought to prep the corn before grilling! What a simple idea! I’ve always just tossed the ears on the grill and skinned them after. Love your tips!

Leave a Reply

 
