Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Carrot Cake Waffles

Posted by Jeanne on August 31, 2011

I bought a ton of carrots last week, mostly intending to roast them or use as aromatics in soups.  Then I remembered this recipe, from the Post Punk Kitchen – and since it was Sunday morning I decide to experiment.

I love eating pancakes, but I hate making them – I get impatient and they end up all pale and flaccid.  No one wants a flaccid pancake.

So I made waffles instead.

Carrot Cake Waffles

2 eggs
1 cup milk
0.25 cup pure maple syrup
2 TB butter, melted
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1.25 C flour
2 tsp baking powder
0.5 tsp salt
1 tsp garam masala (or cinnamon if you don’t have any garam masala)
0.5 tsp ground ginger
0.5 tsp nutmeg

1  cup peeled grated carrot, about 2 – 3 carrots

In a small mixing bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, maple syrup, butter, and vanilla until well-combined.

Add flour, baking powder, salt and spices to the wet ingredients and whisk until just combined.

Gently mix in the grated carrot.

Preheat a waffle iron to medium-high heat. Lightly coat waffle iron with cooking spray or oil. Add batter to waffle iron – I used four 2-ounce scoops for each waffle and it worked really well. Cook until lightly browned.

Keep warm until you’re ready to eat – serve with butter and maple syrup or honey.

They were yummy and delicious, if I do say so. Not the most practical weekday breakfast, but great for a Sunday morning.

Tomorrow I’m off to spend a few days in Massachusetts with my friends Erika and Peter and their son Dylan.  Have a good Labor Day weekend, everyone!

5 Responses to “Carrot Cake Waffles”

  1. I love carrot cake and I love waffles. Can’t go wrong with this recipe!

  2. Jen said

    You just rocked my world. I need to go dig some carrots up from my garden now! (Can I make a cream cheese drizzle to go over them?)

  3. Michelle said

    Hello Jeanne:
    Its Michelle T. from Fidelity. I think I am going to try this one. I love waffles and enjoy carrot cake so why not join the two! Any idea on the calorie count though? Thanks and I hope that all is well on your end.

Leave a Reply

 
