Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Artichoke dip chicken

Posted by Jeanne on September 25, 2011

Between my travels over Labor Day weekend (thanks Peter, Erika and Dylan for letting me come visit!) and the nasty cold I picked up, cooking motivation has been very low.  I resolved on the Wednesday after that to make something new and take a few pictures, dammit, so at least I would have SOMETHING to write about.

And then I spent 2 days solid paddling around in Cunningham Lake for the Kayak Polo U.S. Nationals tournament and didn’t write a post.  And then I spent two weeks thinking that I needed to post something more interesting that some chicken thing we had for dinner on a random Wednesday, but that didn’t really happen either – and now it’s been forever since I posted but this is all I’ve got.

The dish isn’t anything too fancy, but it tasted good and came together really quickly – just what I needed for  a low-motivation Wednesday night.  Even if it was three weeks ago.

Artichoke dip chicken

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 2 lbs.)

1 C plain yogurt (I used Fage 0%)

1 C feta cheese, crumbled

1 C marinated artichokes

1 10-ounce package frozen spinach, defrosted and water squeezed out

2 cloves garlic, peeled

1 large egg

Salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 350F.  Prepare a baking dish with butter or cooking spray; set aside.

Butterfly the chicken breasts (lay flat on a cutting board, slice into the center far enough so that you can open them up but not far enough that you cut them in two).

Salt & pepper both sides of the chicken, and set aside.

Combine yogurt, feta, spinach, artichokes, garlic, egg, and salt & pepper in a food processor.  Pulse until completely combined, scraping down the sides as necessary.

Stuff a good amount of artichoke & spinach mixture into the center of each butterflied chicken breast, then close gently around filling.  I had some filling left over so I put it on top of the chicken breasts as well.

Bake for 45 minutes to an hour, or until the center of the filling reads 165F.

 

We served it with some Israeli couscous that was cooked with lemon, kalamata olives, and oregano.  Easy weeknight dinner!

Hopefully this is the beginning of more-frequent posting.  Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

 
