Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

A post I do not want to write.

Posted by Jeanne on November 4, 2011

This is not the post I want to be writing right now.  Also, this is not about food.  Move along if that is the only thing you want to read.

***

On May 1, 2011 I did the Lincoln Half Marathon through Team In Training’s Nebraska chapter.  TNT is a sports endurance training program that raises funds for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  I signed up for the race because my friend Mike and friend and colleague Jack had recently been diagnosed with acute myeloid leukemia, because our cousin Lacey has been battling chronic myeloid leukemia for years, and because I wanted to Do Something.  While I was doing training for my race, Mike underwent a bone marrow transplant and Jack prepared to have one.

I raised just over $1,400 for the LLS last spring and completed the race in just under 3 hours.  I am not exaggerating when I say that crossing that finish line is possibly the proudest moment of my life.

And then Mike relapsed in June.  And I was angry, and he was angry, but he began the whole thing over again.  He had another transplant in September.  And then he relapsed again – he found out on October 21st.

Halloween party, October 23, 2010

The doctors gave him two to six weeks.

We went down to visit the next weekend and were able to hang out briefly on October 29th.

Mike lost his fight with leukemia on October 31st.

March 2010

He is missed and will be for a long time.

If you also want to Do Something, here are  some ideas:

  1. Join the bone marrow donation registry at Be The Match.
  2. Donate to Be The Match or the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.
  3. Join your local chapter of Team In Training.
I will be volunteering with the local chapter of Team In Training (which I still need to arrange) and I will fundraise and participate in additional events with the local TNT chapter in the future.  I hope to see some of you there as well.

We met nine years ago as neighbors in a shitty apartment building.  We became friends – and although many, many things have changed since then, we remained friends.

I can’t believe he’s gone.

3 Responses to “A post I do not want to write.”

  1. Jeanne, I’m so sorry for your loss. Thank you for putting the word out that there are things we can do to make a difference in this disease, and thank you for all you do. xoxox

  2. I am so sorry for you loss and proud of you for making a difference. Thank you for this post and raising awareness.

  3. I’m so sorry, Jeanne.

Leave a Reply

 
