Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Make-ahead breakfast burritos

Posted by Jeanne on May 29, 2012

I’ve been trying to streamline as much of the work week as possible – lots of make-ahead dinners are par for the course, but I’ve never been very good at make-ahead breakfasts.  Curt usually eats granola bars and I typically will have yogurt and granola, but I’m growing bored.  Also I find that the more protein I have in the morning, the longer I can go without feeling hungry again.

I found this recipe on Pinterest as well – it’s like a sickness, all this pinteresting.  I did modify it somewhat, because I wanted something a little more eggy and a little less meaty.

Make-ahead breakfast burritos

1 lb bacon

12 eggs

2 lb potatoes

1 TB chili powder

2 TB olive oil

Salt & pepper

1 C grated cheddar

12 flour tortillas (soft taco size)

Preheat oven to 400F.  Cut potatoes into bite-sized pieces (smaller pieces wrap better in the burritos).  Toss potatoes in olive oil, chili powder and salt & pepper and place them on a cookie sheet.  Roast about 45 minutes or until tender, stirring every 15 – 20 minutes.

Obligatory “what’s taters, Precious?”

While potatoes are roasting, cook bacon and crumble.   Beat the eggs together with a couple of tablespoons of water, and cook in a large non-stick skillet until scrambled.  Combine eggs and bacon.

Add potatoes and cheese and stir to combine.

To assemble, soften one tortilla by microwaving for 10 – 15 seconds.  Place tortilla on your surface of choice, and put a scoop of filling in the center of the tortilla.  Slightly less filling is better, because if you use too much filling the tortillas will tear.

Fold over the edges and sides to make a packet, and then place folded sides down on a baking sheet.

The finished product.  Cover and freeze until firm – several hours or overnight.  Then I pull them off the sheet and put in a ziplock so we can grab them in the morning.

To warm up, microwave for one to two minutes on medium to defrost, then about another minute on high to warm through.  If the tortillas are too tough once warmed up, sprinkling your burrito with a few drops of water may help.  I eat them with a whole bunch of salsa, because salsa is my friend and I heart it so.

Leave a Reply

 
