Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

The plan – week of 9/10/2012

Posted by Jeanne on September 10, 2012

I have hit the wall.  I cannot eat another quesadilla or bowl of pasta that I do not intend to eat.

Why, hello there.  No, I am not dead.  I am the working parent of a very small child and between doing the things I have to do for those things, I have little time left for blogging.

 

Also, the child is standing on the butcher block wearing astronaut jammies.

We have been cooking, sort of.  But I’ve also been eating way too much convenience food and takeout – I don’t think there is any training plan that advises Thai takeout twice a week.  Or quesadillas/grilled cheese more than once a week.

So this week, I decided that I was going to make a plan.  Even better, I was going to cook ahead for the week so that we could have things ready to warm up instead of having to cook, deciding to forgo cooking, and having pasta or quesadillas again.

The plan:

Sunday:  spinach and havarti omelettes + English muffins

Monday:  harissa marinated chicken thighs (mixed plain yogurt and harissa paste for the marinade; left them for 24 hours.  Super good.) + mashed sweet potatoes + sauteed collard greens

 

Greens are good.

Tuesday:  soup & sandwich (not shameful if planned!)

Wednesday:  black bean & roasted squash enchiladas (made on Sunday)

Thursday:  honey-sesame chicken (made on Sunday) + brown rice (made on Sunday) + sauteed broccoli

Friday:  pizza

Our fridge looks like this now:

But in all those containers is stuff we can eat this week!  Nary a quesadilla in sight!

So this was the plan, and this morning I found out I have to go to Alabama on Thursday for a mediation.  (Business travel is super-glamorous.)  And now I have 3.5 days to get 5 days worth of work done, and things are going to be nuts.  And Curt can have whatever he wants on Friday night now because I won’t be there!

Anyone have good restaurant recommendations in Mobile?

Leave a Reply

 
