Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Day of the pork

Posted by Jeanne on June 16, 2013

So we bought this huge pork shoulder at Costco, and Saturday of this weekend was the Day of the Pork.  Now we have pulled pork for sandwiches, bulk Italian sausage, and tomorrow we’ll have cochinita pibil for tacos.  For a long, long time.

I realized that I got so into bee-bim bop last week that I didn’t post a meal plan!  So last week, we had:

Saturday: bee-bim bop

Sunday:  La Casa that my mother-in-law brought over.  Love La Casa.

Monday:  pasta with italian sausage and red sauce

Tuesday:  turkey meatloaf, mashed potatoes, sugar snap peas, and broccoli

Wednesday:  falafel salad

Thursday:  BBQ spiced shrimp & grits

Friday:  we had dinner with our friends (and former neighbors) Rick and Kate – enchiladas!  Their oven died the next day.  I swear I didn’t touch it.

And then this week, we begin using the pork!

Saturday:  grilled salmon, potatoes, parmesean-lemon green beans (Wild sockeye was $25 a pound at our local grocery store but $13.99 a pound at costco, which isn’t cheap but compared to $25 a pound sounds like a freaking bargain.)

Sunday:  lasagna (I made a second one for the freezer – my general theory on lasagna is that it is a pain to make so you might as well make a ton.)

Monday:  Buffalo chicken salad with blue cheese dressing

Tuesday:  pulled pork sandwiches with sauteed green beans

Wednesday:  we are going to the College World Series!  I haven’t been since I was a teenager.  I think it’ll be fun.  Curt wants to eat a hot dog.

Thursday:  crock pot minestrone soup

Friday:  Hoisin chicken with soba noodles

Have a good week, everyone!

IMG_7826

 

Don’t eat the paint.

Leave a Reply

 
