Jeanne Eats World

I like to cook. I like to eat.

  • Recent Posts

  • Authors

  • Post Archive

  • Categories

Homemade pizza

Posted by Jeanne on May 25, 2010

Last week the New York Times published an article about making pizza at home.  Look, here it is!  I must admit that I was a bit suspicious – because seriously, 48 hours?  48 hours is a long time. I can get pizza delivered in one hour.

But it doesn’t taste like this.  Also, this is so cheap compared to delivery pizza – even with the salmon and all the arugula.

Slightly weird and amoeba-looking, but delicious.

1/4th of New York Times recipe for Pizza Dough with Yeast

4 oz. smoked salmon

4 oz. chevre, crumbled

Olive oil

Cracked black pepper

Lots of arugula – probably about 4 ounces?  A full strainer – this was picked about 20 minutes before we made the pizza.  I heart the garden.

Preheat oven to 500F.  Take dough out of refrigerator and let it rest for an hour.

Shape dough; if you’re more talented than me your pizza might be something resembling round.  Mine was a semi-oblong amoeba shape.

Drizzle with a bit of olive oil and top with cracked pepper, salmon, and chevre.  Bake for 4 minutes and remove from oven.

Top with half the arugula, sprinkle with olive oil and cracked pepper.  Return to the oven for 3 to 4 more minutes, or until pizza is lovely and brown.

Top with remaining arugula and let rest for 5 minutes before slicing.

We split the pizza and had some steamed Chinese long beans on the side.  The pizza wasn’t perfectly round (um, clearly) but it was pretty delicious anyway.

Maybe my cooking mojo hasn’t departed this earth permanently.

2 Responses to “Homemade pizza”

  1. debbie said

    Oh man, you did that dough! I’ve got a pizza post going up first thing tomw, but my crust took all of an hour. Nowhere near as good, I’m sure.

  2. shahzad yaqoob said

    Perfect homemade pizza was never that easy to make; read the article below:

    http://hubpages.com/hub/-The-Perfect-Homemade-Pizza

Leave a comment